German version English version Other languages Other languages

HelpHelp  Site MapSite Map  Wish listWish lists     

 

E-Mail us on:  info@teamholiday.co.uk   info@teamholiday.co.uk

Articles about Lithuanian regions Alytus –City in the Park
BackBack   Print Print

Alytus –City in the Park

Need additional information? Send request Tell a friend

2006-08-06
 
The territory of Alytus region spread along the northern side of Dzūkija land of the Dainava plains through the hilly highlands of Dzūkija till the bends of the biggest Lithuanian Nemunas River, which splits the region in a half. This territory is divided into 11 neighbourhoods (Alytus, Alovė, Butrimonys, Daugai, Krokialaukis, Miroslavas, Nemunaitis, Pivašiūnai, Punia, Raitininkai and Simnas) and the administrative centre is Alytus city. The city is situated in a wonderful bend of the Nemunas river among the hills green with forests may deservedly be proud of the most beautiful and expressive urban landscape in Lithuania. Moreover, a great allure for visitors is new captivating cultural events making the town even more attractive and outstanding. In addition to that, the region may boast of its rich cultural heritage and splendid nature: rapid rivers, pure lakes abundant in fish, and green forests perfect for trips and recreation. On their arrival, visitors will discover the beautiful sights and also hospitality of the locals, old handicrafts, and modern businesses, all in combination of tradition and modernity.

Places to visit

Butrimonys village is famous for its triangular square, the only one which has remained in Lithuania. The square was built in the 20th century and was surrounded by houses of merchants and craftsmen. The square layout and central street network have been declared a Lithuanian urban monument.

Daugai is a lake resort with most of its area located on the peninsula of Didžiulis (Daugai) lake. One of the biggest lakes in Dzūkija attracts lots of visitors from tourists to fishermen as it offers perfect conditions for camping, hiking and rower training. The historical town centre is on the list of urban monuments.

Nemunaitis situated on the picturesque banks of the River Nemunas and almost entirely surrounded by woods. It has been known for its mineral springs since the 19th century. Nowadays the salty water can be still found in the village of Vangelonys. Moreover, Nemunaits has another natural monument, the Great Stone of Dzūkija.

Pivašiūnai, also known as Siluva of Dzūkija, is famous for its feast of the Assumption, which is called Žolinė. It is celebrated in August in tie wooden church of St. Mary‘s Accepting to the Heaven. The church is also known for its magical painting of St. Mary. A good location for recreation is the lake of Ilgai, nearby the church.

Punia village is situated at the confluence of the rivers Nemunas and Punelė. It was made famous by the mound of Punia, which is also called Margiris Mountain, overlooking one of the most brilliant views in Lithuania.

Simnas was established in the 16th century by the lakes of Simnas and Giluitis. The historical town centre has been enlisted as an urban monument, and the Renaissance church of Simnas has been declared an architectural monument. Moreover, clean lakes and the reserve of Žuvintas, exotic in terms of its flora and fauna, attract hundreds of tourists not only from around Lithuania but also from abroad.

Žuvintas Biosphere Reserve.
Looking from above, it is only Žuvintas lake that stands out among other lakes due to its mystery and liveliness. It is locked in an embrace of the following natural components: the upland mire of Suvalkija, forest of Bukta known for its hornbeams, smaller mire of Amalva and lakes of Amalvas and Žaltytis. Running along the border between Dzūkija and Suvalkija, they make up an admirable collection of natural values. These different but linked natural complexes have been put under protection as part of Žuvintas Biosphere Reserve, accumulating rare and endangered species of animals and plants as well as vestigial communities of wetlands.

The Pinewood of Punia is girdled by a 19 km long bend of the Nemunas River. Its museum of forestry contains a great collection of hunting trophies, utilities of rural household, and tools for forest work. The reserve of Punia pinewood has grown the tallest Lithuanian pine and the alley of oaks, named after Great Lithuanian Dukes. Other interesting places to visit nearby is a former headquarter bunker of guerrillas from Dainava area, and interesting sculptures on the subject of hunting on the other side of the pinewood. For admirers of sculptures a perfect spot is a sculpture park, called “Žaltės slėnis”, located in the former village of Smalinyčia. The park is a spacious forest site with a pagan altar and priestesses protecting it. The pinewood and settlement of Punia belong to the Regional Park of Nemunas Bends, safeguarding the great Nemunas bends.

Dzūkija National Park with its small part located in Alytus has been established to protect, maintain and adapt for tourism the territories in Dainava region, which are valuable in terms of nature and culture. The park with its comfortable road network, numerous rivers and brooks, and recreational areas

The regional park of Meteliai occupying part of Simnas and Miroslavas neighbourhoods is known for Dusia, Metelys and Obelija, the biggest southern Lithuanian lakes, and also rich vegetation, unique landscape, mounds, forests full of animals and fishy lakes with beaches. It is only this protected area in Dzūkija that has the capacity to attract so many tourists in summertime.

Alytus – city in the park. The town garden is the oldest town park situated close to the Town Hall square. The park, shaped geometrically, has its origins in a natural pinewood and dates back from 1930. Beautiful rosaries, a fountain and exotic bushes and trees keep luring visitors to the park. Just past the square of Liberty Angel, there is another great place for recreation, Resot Park, offering a number of paths for walking. A great allure for visitors is a beach by the small lake of Dailidė, which has formed in the old riverbed of Nemunas. Youth Park is distinctive for the metal plastic sculpture composition. There are a few playgrounds, sport fields and cycling tracks established for the use of visitors.
The park “Legend of Dainava”, situated in the village of Pupasodis, the area of Miroslavas, is animated by four ponds, and streams, as well as sculptures built by the folk artist I. Užkurnis to render the themes of Vincas Krėvė short stories. The park contains around 40 types of bushes and trees.

The buildings complex of Kurnėnai school was built in 1936 from the funds of the expatriate L. Radziukynas on the project of an American architect. It has been registered as an object of architectural, historical and technological value. Surprisingly, it has retained its authenticity for nearly 70 years.

Mounds

The mound of Bambininkai, also known as Ąžuolų Ragas – Dambavaragis, is located in the settlement of the same name, in the direction of Žuvintas Reserve.

Kaukai Mound is located west of Miroslavas, on the left bank of Peršėkė brook. It has extremely steep slopes and the site almost entirely surrounded by an embankment.

Papėčiai Mound, situated between the lakes of Obelija and Metelys, overlooks the great lakes of Dzūkija.

Olakalnis Mound, also known as Siauliakalnis, is located in Miroslavas, Bendrių village. On top, it has a white shining chapel where sacrifices were offered to gods in pagan times.

The mound of Žilvia in Pupasodis village overlooks a wide panoramic view of Alytus city.

The mound of Radžiūnai is located on the left bank of Nemunas River, next to slopes of the wonderful Kirmija brook, in the botanical sanctuary of Vidzgiris. The sanctuary is famous not only for its diverse plants but also for historical places. There is a pedestrian ecological path leading tourists to the mound.

Alytus Mound was found in a natural mountain on the right bank of Nemunas, where the brook of Alytupis surrounding the mound runs into the river.

Rumboniai Mound is surrounded by the River Nemunas in the east, and the brook of Pilupis in the north.

The mound of Punia, also known as Margis Mountain, is the most known mound in the area. Located in the confluence of Nemunas and Punelė rivers, the mound is one of the biggest in Lithuania. Wonderful view opens from its top: Nemunas River and lovely Punia pinewood.

Churches

Punia Church of St. Jacob the Apostle was built in 1857 and combines baroque and classicist architecture styles. There is a portrait of the Great Vytautas. Punia church and the chapel has been enlisted as architectural values.

Butrimonys Church of St. Saviour, built between 1906 and 1926, there are valuable paintings and pieces of folk art dating back from the first half of the 19th century.

Pivašiūnai Church of St. Mary‘s Accepting to the Heaven was built in 1825. The painting of the St. Mary is decorated in silver and a crown hangs in the altar, presented as a gift from the Pope John Paul II. The picture titled Mary’s Consolation of the Sorrowful and may be compared to the Madonna of the Gates of Dawn in terms of age, painting style and remedial powers.

Simnas Church of St. Mary‘s Accepting to the Heaven, built in 1520, is the only Renaissance basilica of cross layout in Lithuania and has been declared an architectural monument.

Rumbonys St. Trinity Church built in 1795, is a characteristic classicist ensemble serving religious purposes. It is called the wooden version of Vilnius Cathedral. The church architectural complex of chapel and belfry has been registered as immovable cultural values. There is a white marble gravestone for a count’s daughter Juzefa Korevaitė on her grave in the village cemetery.

Miroslavas St. Trinity Church restored in 1921 due after the bombings of Russian soldiers. The present church contains modernised elements from romantic epoch and neo-baroque and neo-classicist times.

Nemunaitis St. Blessed Virgin Mary’s Church was built in 1904 and contains neo-gothic elements. It is said to be one of the most beautiful churches in Dzūkija.

Alovės wooden St. Trinity Church was built in 1802 and together with its belfry has been enlisted as cultural monuments.

Daugai Church of Providence, built between 1858 and 1862, is a stony building with its interior decorated with a harmonious composition of gothic arches, roman and Byzantine loft elements and valuable 18th – 19th century pictures.

Kriokialaukis Church of Christ’s Resurrection, built in 1755, neo-gothic and neo-roman shapes is dominated. Neo-baroque altars are among the most valuable 19th century Lithuanian art monuments.

Alytus Church of St. Guardians Angels’, built in 1830, is a small beautiful wooden church with the layout of Latin cross. In the course of construction, at different stages it accumulated elements of romanticism, classicism and neo-baroque.

Alytus Church of St. Louis was rebuilt in 1818 and can be noted for a picture by an unknown artist included in the list of art monuments.

Raižiai wooden Tartar Mosque, built in 1889, was the only mosque working during the Soviet times and has been declared a cultural value. Ražiai has been entitled the capital of Tartar people, whose national cake Simtalapis is known outside the territory of Dzūkija, mainly due to its inimitable taste. Welcomes tourists to travel on foot, by car or by boat.


More articles about Lithuanianian regions:


Shortly About Lithuania
Druskininkai: For your Health and Entertainment
The desert of Europe – the Curonian Spit

Name
E-Mail
RateBad Good!
Carlos Struckas Vote: 5Vote: 5Vote: 5Vote: 5Vote: 5
Congratulations, This site is very interesting for who wants to know Lithuanien. Struckas
Lasse Lien Vote: 3Vote: 3Vote: 3
I miss a map over Alytus city and region. I also miss a description of the differense between cit, (municipality), region and district (apskritis) Why not tell small ablout history?? Alytus have been divided between Russia and Poland by the river Nemunas and, Simnas have been the administrative center over the region and.............a lot more interesting things